Doing a 2k

I wrote this great article about How to Prepare for a 2k Test at the beginning of the week and now that I am four 2ks wiser I am here to tell you what I learned.

.

On Tuesday I was prepared, I was well rested, I had everything I wanted to do planned nicely, I had my moves ready, I had my technical focuses and I totally bombed it. It went really, really badly.

.

I rowed like a novice. I had no technique, I didn’t pick up the load at the catch at all, I went out at a way higher rate than I normally would have and I panicked when I couldn’t pull my splits. I tried to refer to my race plan and when I couldn’t execute what I wanted to, the wheels fell off even more.

.

So maybe planning that much isn’t actually effective. I would recommend trying it once, just because it might work for some rowers, but wow it did not work for me this week.

.

What did work was spending time doing steady state and really solidifying the good technique that I wanted to row with and not thinking during the piece. When I rowed effectively and got of my head, was able to pull faster splits with less effort and was therefore more confident.

.

I learned from the failure. A bad piece isn’t the end of the world if I can look at it and say, “well, that’s what I don’t want to do, let’s never do that again.” Use the failure as a learning tool. Step away, look at it objectively and decide WHY it didn’t work and HOW you’re going to avoid it.

.

So back to erging. The racing was in regatta format so we had a 2k on Thursday morning, afternoon and Friday morning.

.

We were racing with screens so it also helped to see everyone around me. When it’s hard, it’s a lot easier for me to be motivated extrinsically. Knowing that I had to pull harder to beat someone was good for me.

.

One bit of advice that I gave in the first blog that DID work for me was to pretend like I was rowing a pair with the person next to me. I was able to sit by one of my besties who I am really competitive with on the erg Thursday afternoon and we killed it together. We were within a meter of each other the entire time. We made a move at the 1000 together and we sprinted at the end together. Even though we were trying to beat each other (she got me by .2 of a second) we went in unison. It was a really beautiful moment in what could have been a week of shitty, awful erging if we let it seem like that.

.

All in all enjoy your 2ks. They hurt, but they’re not that long. Get through 2 songs. Have fun. Lead your team and be able to walk away knowing that that was the fastest you could have possibly gone.

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

